What is Ayurveda?


Ayurveda means the “science of life.” It is ancient wisdom which originated in India over 5000 years ago about a way of living that is aligned with nature for physical, mental and spiritual balance. Yoga, which is more commonly known, is a sister science of Ayurveda.


Ayurveda is based on the five elements present in nature that makes up the physical world around us. These elements are: air, fire, earth, water and space.


The five elements form three doshas: Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

Doshas are energies that govern different physiological functions. All three doshas are present in everyone but to varying degrees. Ayurveda is about understanding our unique constitution in order to achieve balance.


The five elements also form the six tastes of food: sweet, bitter, salty, astringent, sour and pungent. Depending on our unique constitution, the tastes that we include in our food can either help balance our overall being or further aggravate it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s